Letter to State Board re: Emeritus

This is gonna get UGLY folks:

Dear RCSE:

 

Re:

Emeritus at Brookhurst

15302 Brookhurst Street

 

 

I would like to make a complaint against Emeritus at Brookhurst, I  do not believe they are taking care of their residents. I moved my dad there from Emeritus at Fairview in Anaheim on 10/30/2008.

 

12/22/8 – I had to Force Emeritus @ Brookhurst to send my dad via ambulance to St. Jude Hospital for an infected spider bite.

 

I have another company I use Alta Home Care, when needed I send them to look in on my dad, take him to doctor appointments and out to get lunch and see his wife.  They let me know that my dad was extremely agitated because he had a rash all over and it wasn’t going away.  

 

Based on this info

1/26/9 –  Based on this info I had to Force Emeritus @ Brookhurst to send my dad via ambulance to Orange Coast Medical Center – he ended up in the hospital for 3 days with antibiotics trying to get rid of the rash.

 

In between 1/26/9 and his 2 week follow up appointment for the rash (that still hasn’t gone away) I continued to have Alta Home Care check up on my dad and see to his needs and get him to his doctors appointments. During this time he fell twice and developed a hernia, which needed surgery.

 

He had outpatient surgery on 3/20 for his hernia, I had Alta Home Care stay with him when he went back to Emeritus and the Care Provider let the facility know that he would need to have extra supervision for a few days to make sure everything went all right.

 

I received a voice message on 3/22 stating “you need to go pick up his meds from CVS”,  When I called back, they had no idea what medications they were or what CVS they were at.  I told them since they have a CVS directly across the street, they needed to find out where the meds where, get them transferred to CVS and get them picked up.  They stated that they would do that right away.

 

I then received a voice message on 3/24/9 stating that my dad had fallen out of his wheelchair, he was fine except for a bump on his head.  I had Alta home care go check on him on 3/25 and the caretaker found him moaning in pain in his room with diarrhea.

 

I had to FORCE the facility to order an ambulance to take him to the hospital  Fountain Valley, where he arrived dehydrated and in bad condition.  He has since been transferred to St. Judes where at this time he is STILL in critical condition with dehydration and an infection.

 

If I did not have Alta Home Care go check on my dad it is very possible he would be DEAD NOW.  This in unacceptable!

 

He will NOT be going back to this facility, however; there are still other residents who maybe in physical danger due to neglect.

 

Sincerely,

Dxxx

5 thoughts on “Letter to State Board re: Emeritus

  1. It is so difficult to find a facility that will care while giving care to our elderly. The people working in those places are paid employees … caring doesn’t seem to be in their job description.

    It’s truly sad!

    I hope you are able to find a better facility for your father!

  2. Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

  3. Hello !!! 😉
    I am Piter Kokoniz. oOnly want to tell, that your posts are really interesting
    And want to ask you: will you continue to post in this blog in future?
    Sorry for my bad english:)
    Tnx!
    Your Piter

  4. Доброго времени суток!

    Я у вас на swobodasays.wordpress.com в первый раз.
    Не знал куда запостить своё сообщение. Запостил в “https://swobodasays.wordpress.com/2009/03/27/letter-to-state-board-re-emeritus/”. Если ошибся, огоромная просьба к администраторам – перенести пост в более подходящий раздел форума.

    Kind time of day!

    I at you on swobodasays.wordpress.com for the first time.
    Did not know where запостить the message. Запостил in ” http: // swobodasays.wordpress.com //2009/03/27/letter-to-state-board-re-emeritus / “. If was mistaken, огоромная the request to managers – to transfer a post to more suitable section of a forum.

    I have a deep conviction: Live itself and allow to live another!

Leave a Reply

