Coupons explained…great for stretching your budget

Sorry for being gone for a while, I tried, but deals keep coming up so here I am again 🙂

I am not sure if any of you have seen “extreme couponing”, while it is all good, my husband REFUSES to build me a store in my garage… 😦  hee hee, acutally, unless there is an acopolypse real soon I don’t see the reason to have 100’s of deordants and hand soaps.

I do however, as you know, loooove my coupons, so here goes….Coupons are sold on ebay…this is good but you have to make sure you are going to use them before the expiration date and it is something you tend to get on EVERY or almost every shopping trip.

Example, there was a sale for (5 coupons) $8 off dog food, now this is a good deal, but the bidding was up to $30 (savings is $40) plus shipping plus you had to be willing to buy 5 bags within 6 weeks, not really a good deal for me.

Example, we buy cans and 2 lites of pop everytime we go to the store, so …. I got (10 coupons) $1 off (2) 12 packs of coke products (3 months to use them) – I paid $1.75 with shipping, when I went to the store they were having a sale 3 12packs for $11, the 2liters were WAY high, so I skipped the liters and got 6 12 packs for $22 and used (2) $1.00 coupons, so I am already ahead .25.

I went to Target the other day and they have the same sale so I picked up 3 12packs for 11 then used 1 coupon – so now I am ahead 1.25, and this will continue… I will end up saving $8.25… my ROI (return on investment) was the first time I used them, and I don’t have to buy a bunch at one time to take advantage of the rest of my savings.

I always look at the complete amount of the coupons ($10) –  price + shipping (-$1.75) = $8.25 total savings / how much time I have to use them (3 months).

Leave a Reply

