Wood Turning Pens for My Mom in honor of my Dad

My dad was a great wood worker. He made rocking horses or in my case a rocking unicorn šŸ™‚ He made my boys cradle (made it thru two cross country moves before it was broken beyond repair šŸ˜¦ He also made a cradle for my best friend, a little different but still made with love. She passed away but her daughter is expecting and she is using the cradle my dad made for her for her daughter. It makes me sad that neither Daveen or my Dad will be here to see her use it šŸ˜¦

He made the “cow” toy chest, I have a picture of the boys at 2 & 4 and then again at 20 & 24 on it šŸ™‚ We still have it, it needs some repair, not sure how yet.

In his later years he made us the dog house with the fence with a platform for the kitty. We had to bring it thru the window of the kitchen, but it stopped the dogs from messing in the kitchen all the time!
IMG_9579

That was his last big item, he turned to clocks and pens and pull toys.

Since he passed away his tools have been sitting in the garage. So, after many hints from my mom, went to a pen turning class. It came out all right.

IMG_9510

Not quite a cradle or dog house, but it is a start. So I went down last week and made a few more pens with the ones he started before he got to sick to finish them and passed away.

This is making my mom happy, and as long as I don’t lose any digits I like doing it. It is harder then it seemed in the classes cause I had to do all the work. But it is satisfying to see it take shape and know that my dad it watching and helping me.

Leave a Reply

