International Travel – packing

I think a lot of how you pack depends on where you live and where you are going. Case in point, we live in CA, hot yes, Humid, no.

We went to Madrid(hot), Marrakesh (hella hot), & Barcelona (Humid AWFUL). It might have been cooler but the humidity was bad!

Now if you are from some of the states that are humid you would probably be ok with this weather, but you could tell those of us who weren’t (americans, europeans) we were all red and sweaty.

But I learned my lesson from Barcelona and was prepared (sort of) for Thailand.

First off, unless you come from a humid city, you ain’t wearing makeup, it just runs off, and you aren’t doing your hair because it will be up in a ponytail the whole time. So on this trip, even though it won’t be humid, it will be hot, very little make, no travel case for me. Will save space and weight, very important with the stupid luggage restrictions.

Second, unless you are backpacking the countryside, I suggest no jeans or if you must 1 pair, they are hot, heavy and hard to wash and dry. If you can either get blended socks or bring enough you can toss the old ones, as they are too hard to wash and they never dry.

I recommend highly light weight and preferably moisture wicking and quick drying shorts, pants and shirts. I found that this items can be expensive, but you know me, I found “Sierra Trading Post” they have very good prices but FIRST join their club so you get 30% off your first purchase of $95.00. Then you get thank you card for %25 of your next purchase of $75.00. I stayed right at my $95 first to make sure I would like the items and they would fit. They are better then expected. Oh and if you have signed up at Ebates like I suggested you will get money back…..BOOYAH.

You will want to pack light and wash your clothes while you are there, if you get the light weight items the wash and dry quickly. Plus they are much lighter and leave room for items you pick up on your trip.

Don’t take more then 2 pairs of shoes, walking shoes and sandals that can do double duty when going out at night.

Trust me, after many trips and bring home items that were never worn but lugged around with us, I know what I am talking about. I think I may have gotten down pat this time.

Leave a Reply

