More savings tips

long time followers may find some repeats, but I want to give it out to everyone again for those who may have never seen them:

#1 – Loyalty Programs – as per my last post – if you tend to shop somewhere like say Target quite often sign up for what ever loyalty program they have, you are already there, take advantage of anything they want to give you!

#2 – Target Red Card DEBIT – if you do shop at Target, don’t get yourself mired with another credit card, get the Debit Card, works just like your bank debit card except you get 5% off every purchase…this is no brainer for serious Target Shoppers

#3 – Don’t be hooked by “designer/name” brands, there are alternatives out there, I have the simple human trash can, I DON”T by there trashbags, I get the big box of trash bags from Costco, they work in this can, why would I pay more???  I have a Mint that sweeps and mops the floor, also like a Swiffer, I buy generic wipe, also I found that when one side gets dirty, just turn it up side down and use the other side!!  It may take a little time, but you will save big for you wallet

#4 – Use the SUN!  Free energy, buy a Clothes Line…I have a portable dryer that folds up like an umbrella for storage.  I dry Towels, Jeans and my sons T-Shirts in the sun.  Couple of helpful hints, use softner in the clothes you are going to dry on the line, and take them off before they are completely dry.  This will avoid the stiffness that sometimes occurs.  Take down while just a little damp, and throw them in the dryer for 10-15 min, much less energy used, since those items can take over 1 hour to dry.

#5 – Yes your dishwasher has lots of choices/settings but NO you don’t have to use them.  I only use the China/Delicate setting, it is shorter and works great, I also don’t use the heat dry setting.  I will use a regular setting if I have a bunch of items that are really dirty, mostly at holidays.  Save water and electricity.

#6 – Yes your washer/dryer has lots of choices/settings, you don’t have to use them.  Again, I used the lowest one I can to get the best effect, so 99% of the time it is Perm Press which is 44 min with a spin cycle.  Most of the other settings are 60 min or more.  The dryer I use time setting, the “sensor” setting can keep things drying for hours if one item is damp.  I set the timer and then check every 15 and take out anything that is already dry so the other items will be able to dry faster.

This is just a few of my hints….I will keep posting more as time goes by.  Please let me know how they work out for you.

Leave a Reply

