Your not gonna healthify are you??? asked my son…

If you read my last post, you know I made a good soupy/stew and what goes better then CornBread!  So I found a recipe online (http://allrecipes.com/recipe/golden-sweet-cornbread/) and as I was gathering my items my son walks in and asks “your not gonna healthify that are you?”  because he was still recovering from my wheat pizza crust 😉  I said “no , why you want some” , “as long as you follow the recipe I do”  he replied.  So I said I would follow the recipe and I tried, I really did

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour (ok so I replaced 1/2 the flour with Soy flour)

  • 1 cup yellow cornmeal

  • 2/3 cup white sugar (ok, ok, you got me, I replaced it with 1/3c of granulated non-refined sugar)

  • 1 teaspoon salt

  • 3 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

  • 1 egg (cage free organic)

  • 1 cup milk (whole milk, all I had)

  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil (olive oil, all I had)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Spray or lightly grease a 9 inch round cake pan. (uh, Don’t have one of those, so I used a loaf pan instead and greased with coconut oil)
  2. In a large bowl, combine flour, cornmeal, sugar, salt and baking powder. Stir in egg, milk and vegetable oil until well combined. Pour batter into prepared pan.
  3. Bake in preheated oven for 20 to 25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the loaf comes out clean.

It came out yummy, sweat and good, and he liked it and couldn’t tell I healthified anything 🙂

Leave a Reply

